Terrell Owens among semifinalists to join NFL Hall of Fame

Terrell Owens
Owens runs after the catch -- Photo courtesy of 49ers.com

On Tuesday, the NFL announced its list of semifinalists to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Terrell Owens was among those making the cut. Fellow wide receiving legends Randy Moss, Isaac Bruce, Torry Holt, and Hines Ward join Owens as semifinalists. This is Owens’ third time making it to the semifinal round on the Hall of Fame ballot. He is certainly up against some tough competition this time around.

Learn about all 27 Modern-Era Semifinalists for the Class of 2018. Click the link in our Bio for the full story. #PFHOF18

A post shared by Pro Football Hall of Fame (@profootballhof) on

Owens lead an incredible career in the NFL. In fact, his career might not even be over. T.O. was well known for his antics on and off the field, but backed his words up with 15 seasons of incredible football. Owens spent eight years in San Francisco with the 49ers before a two year stint with the Eagles. He then played four very successful seasons with the Cowboys and finished his career with the Bill and Bengals. Terrell Owns totaled 15,934 yards and 153 touchdowns during his illustrious career. He broke the 1,000 yard receiving mark on nine occasions, making him the second leading receiver in NFL history behind Jerry Rice. He comes in at third in receiving touchdowns.

The semifinal list for the 2018 Hall of Fame induction contains some huge names. Linebackers Ray Lewis and Brian Urlacher make their first appearances on the ballet. Defensive back legends Brian Dawkins, Ronde Barber, and Ty Law will take a crack at getting into Canton as well. Other standouts include Edgerrin James, Jimmy Johnson, Kevin Mawae, and Richard Seymour. The list of finalists will be announced in January.



Written By
More from Nick Cowie

The College Football Playoff three weeks out

This season’s College Football Playoff for the national title has no real...
Read More

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.